Angels Wings? Image On A Window

I took some awesome but haunting photos a few weeks back and thought I’d share them with you.  It was the day we returned from our fabulous trip to Maine.  We were unloading the car, surveying the yard, and in general checking things out after nine days away.

Strangely surreal image on my front window.
Late August, looking west.

As I was going out for another load,  something caught my eye in the bay window.  The sun was lower in the sky.  And then I saw what looked like a wing, in full detail, on the glass of our window.

I looked closer.  I changed my angle of observation. That’s when I saw what my camera captured.  An almost perfect outline of a bird in full wing-span, as it probably smashed into our window.

A closer view of the winged image on my west-facing window.
Angels wings? You be the judge.

It was shocking, even ghost-like.  We live in the country and have a large expanse of glass windows.  I’ve heard birds bang into them before and seen smudges on the glass.  But I’ve never seen anything like this!

I fear the worst for this bird but will never know what happened because we were out of state.  All I know is it was plainly visible on my window when we returned from our trip, like a message of some sort.

The Winged Window Image.
Gorgeous in its ethereal clarity.

Most of the image is gone now, washed away by mother nature and time.  It was beautiful and haunting and remained visible on our window for weeks.

It was a gift.  It spoke of intrigue and mystery, of faith.

It stirred thoughts of life and death.

And whispers of angels wings…

* * * * * * * * *

Update: I was talking to our friend Kelli yesterday.  She was our house/dog sitter during our Maine trip, when the image appeared.  I asked if she remembered the imprint.  She said Yes, it was the first thing she saw entering our great room (where the window is) after work that day. And she did go outside to look for a body but didn’t find one.

The day it happened was some time on Thursday, Aug. 23rd, three days before we returned home … and my birthday.

About Tar-Buns @ Here and ThereSa

This is my Green Acres Life - somewhere over the rainbow.
This entry was posted in country living, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Angels Wings? Image On A Window

  1. k8edid says:

    That is pretty amazing.

  2. Al says:

    Cue the “Twilight Zone” theme music. Amazing!

  3. I hope it was a bird. It would be too embarrassing for an angel to meet his end like that.

  4. I prefer to view it as a symbol of blessings for your birthday and upcoming year…

  5. pegoleg says:

    Whew! I’m getting a shiver down my spine on this. The imprint of the wing looks like somebody painted it on, it’s so vivid. I’m with Carol – look at this as a good omen that angels are watching over you.

    Or that your guardian angel is particularly clumsy.

  6. libertarian says:

    You could take it as a sign of the Lord’s great love for you, Tar.

  7. Becky says:

    Very pretty! I like how the image is perfectly centered between your two figurines.

  8. Tom Dolan says:

    Great Pics.

    Tom

  9. Mary Kay says:

    Tar-that image is pretty and spooky at the same time. I think it’s a blessing for the year. Love-MK

  10. That is the wildest thing I`ve seen in a long time! WOW!

    • Hello, Emily-san! It was very wild and it lasted almost 2 months, gradually getting fainter and fainter.
      Now, I’ve got a cardinal hanging out by the side window, occasionally trying to get in by flying into the glass. I just saw it again this morning. Crazy bird.
      How’s life in Japan? I hope to post something new soon – its been forever.
      Happy Thanksgiving!

  11. Ha! As if I cook… That’s hubby’s domain, the reason why I’m so “voluptuous”!

  12. Hi Peg. What’s cooking? I will be posting something this weekend.

  13. I’m glad I didn’t see your post until after I’d written my own version, which pales in comparison.

    • Hello 1point! I saw your post today and of course smiled. Wasn’t able to leave a comment at the time but I nodded my head in understanding. Funny thing is, I had another half-body clear bird imprint show up on that very same window two weeks ago. I feel for those birds – BAMN!
      Liked your photo as well. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

