ArtPrize Lust…

Mosaic pictures creating the ‘eye’. Wow!

Check out this ‘eye-catching’ mosaic from 2011 ArtPrize.

I have always loved art, in its many forms.  In the past few years, I’ve discovered this beautiful, inside-outside art show in Grand Rapids, Michigan.  My sister MK lives close to GR .  She told me about this revolutionary art competition toward the end of it’s first year.

It went so fast, however, I couldn’t get over in time. I missed it.

I made sure I didn’t miss the 2nd year. Or the 3rd.  Now we’re on year #4.

So you don’t think you like art,  much,  but you know what you like when you see it, right? If you haven’t heard of ArtPrize in Grand Rapids, Michigan, you are missing out on a unique assemblage of art that runs almost 3 weeks in and around the city.

There’s art in the coffee shops, in the restaurants, in the library, in the museums, and in the courtyards.  Murals on the sides of buildings, artwork in the river.  Art is everywhere!

This statue caught my attention at  last year’s ArtPrize.  It spoke to me.   Little me listening to bigger me about … life.   Made me think…

What Do You Say???

Here are a few more photos of some creative artwork from last year’s ArtPrize.

Last Year’s item — the USA in skillets.

Artwork from 2011 which is permanent on this building.

A photographic homage to Chicago, my favorite town.
ArtPrize 2011

Another mosaic, 2011, ArtPrize,
Grand Rapids, MI

If you want something fabulous to do in the next two weeks, go to the Grand Rapids ArtPrize event.  It’s great art, it’s free, and it’s just stupendous!  There is definitely something for everyone.

For more information visit the official website – artprize.org

Get to Grand Rapids and  see for yourself while you still can 🙂

About Tar-Buns @ Here and ThereSa

This is my Green Acres Life - somewhere over the rainbow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to ArtPrize Lust…

  1. Tar-Buns says:

    There were too many pictures to post about ArtPrize 2011.
    I will post pictures from this year’s show when I get them.
    Be sure to share your favorite artistic pieces here!
    Enjoy the show!

  2. What a great celebration of the arts! Wish I were closer to Grand Rapids (she said to the woman who drove cross country to Maine this summer). Can’t wait to see pictures from this year also!

    • Tar-Buns says:

      I’m looking forward to seeing this year’s art as well. I’ve seen some of it on TV but it’s neat to see it in person. Problem is there is so much, it’s hard to see everything.

  3. Amazes me what artists can do with various media…

  4. pegoleg says:

    Are you going this year? I sure wish we lived closer so I could go – what a wonderful show. Thanks for the great pictures.

    • Tar-Buns says:

      I hope to go this weekend. Now we find out Pat’s Dad is being released from the Masonic Pathways rehab center. He wants to go home, so we cannot stop him. Hopefully he will be good about the in-home health care. The alternative is back to some form of assisted living.
      At least I can follow some of the art on the GR news stations which we can get most days off our antenna.
      Love your post today!

  5. Mary Kay says:

    Thank you for the wonderful plug for ArtPrize. I got Pat to go down last night for an hour and we had fun seeing all the outside art. I recommend it to everyone and any of my family is welcome to stay with us and enjoy all the fantastic art!

    • Tar-Buns says:

      I hope to get over this weekend. Hope so. What’s your schedule Sat?
      I’ll be in touch. Glad you’ve got a start on checking the great art out. I love this competition!

  6. lexiemom says:

    I feel more art savvy already!

    • Tar-Buns says:

      That’s the neat thing about ArtPrize. The public votes on what THEY like and that ultimately determines which top 10 artists win the money awards. Wish I lived closer so I could go often!

  7. Libertarian says:

    ArtPrize is very neato! Saw it two years ago, and would love to go again.

Leave a Reply

