The USS Edson Arrived in Bay City, MI

Last month I wrote about the arrival of a decommissioned naval destroyer to Bay City, Michigan.   https://hereandtheresa.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/the-uss-edson-is-almost-home/

It will become the flagship presence for the Saginaw Valley Naval Ship Museum, located off Lake Huron, through the Saginaw Bay and into the Saginaw River.

My family lives in Bay City and Dad is an avid boater so I drove over to see this majestic vessel from the water, hours after she docked at her temporary home.  And what a beauty she was!

The USS Edson in Bay City, MI

The primary tug shepherding the Edson on her journey was the Colonel.  She was a worthy tug with a big job and she completed the task with no problems.

The tugboat Colonel

It was quite a sight to see!

Here are a few more pictures of this majestic lady.  I look forward to seeing her again when she is permanently moored at the Naval Museum.

So stately.

The USS Edson resting after her long journey home.

It is a great honor to have a ship of this history and grandeur permanently moored in the Great Lakes State of Michigan!

About Tar-Buns @ Here and ThereSa

This is my Green Acres Life - somewhere over the rainbow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The USS Edson Arrived in Bay City, MI

  1. Running from Hell with El says:

    She is indeed majestic!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I think they are indeed majestic, those ships from our naval days past. Apparently she will be cleaned up and prepped for tourists.
      Everyone who can visit Bay City, please do so to support these types of musuem finds!

  2. How exciting! If only these ships could talk…

  3. pegoleg says:

    Did you go over this weekend? Great pictures! Will we be able to tour her?

    • No. These photos are from August 7th, the day she was towed into port. I finally got the pictures downloaded onto my computer. The ship will be open to the public at some point when she is moored in her final home, just up the river from where she is in these pictures.
      BTW, I could NOT for the life of me put a link for my previous post into this post. And then I hit the publish button before I was ready. Geesh…
      Who’s coming next weekend for Dad’s Bday? See you soon!

  4. Cathi's Meanderings says:

    Thanks for the pixs…what a life this ship has had. Neat retirement!

  5. Mary Kay says:

    Enjoyed the fine pictures. See you at Dad’s party.

  6. Wow… VERY close to where I was born and raised most of my childhood. Isn’t it weird how we are drawn?

  7. pegoleg says:

    Hey! What’s going on here in this blog? Are you feeling the pressure to GET A NEW POST UP HERE STAT BECAUSE YOUR READERS ARE WAITING FOR SOMETHING NEW AND IT BETTER BE GOOD AND IT BETTER BE FRESH OR EVERYONE IS GONNA PICK UP THEIR MARBLES AND GO HOME! Welcome to the bloggy pressure cooker, sis.

    • Tar-Buns says:

      You’re right about the presssure. Since school started, I have been brain dead as far as my blog goes. I’m cooking something. Stat tuned…

Leave a Reply

