Maine, How I Love Ya…

One of many sunset photos in Bass Harbor, Maine

Sunset, Bass Harbor, Maine.
A beautiful place to enjoy mother nature.

My husband and I went on a late summer road trip to Maine two weeks ago.  We had a FANTASTIC trip! Maine is so beautiful.

We rented a cottage in Bass Harbor on the island of Mt. Desert, Maine.  There was so much to see in Maine and so little time, we narrowed our explorations to our island oasis.  I took lots of pictures of our quiet cottage town, Acadia National Park, and Bar Harbor, where the action was!

Acadia National Park is a true treasure to explore and so many venues to do so.  There were hikers and bikers, strollers and runners.  The vistas were breathtaking. No room for all the pix.

Acadia National Park’s Thunder Bowl at high tide. This side of the island was stupendous!

The weather was great, the cottage was oh so comfy, with a great view of the harbor, and the lobster was so TASTY and cheap.

We cooked fresh, live lobster 5 out of the 7 days we stayed in Bass Harbor (Well, hubby did most of the cooking – he’s so good at it!).  It was a short distance to a working lobster farm from our cottage.  We started with soft ($4/lb) and then tried the hard shell lobsters ($6/lb).  The hard shell variety cost a bit more but had more meat.  It was all yummy…

Lobster’s in the kitchen with Dinah…

Bass Harbor, low tide, coming out of the fog.

The morning of my birthday, the harbor was enveloped in a pea-soup fog.  I enjoyed watching the boats and the opposing fingerlet-land emerge from that murky haze.  Thurston Lobster Pound is across the way, still in the fog.  Mesmerizing…

Fog in Bass Harbor from our deck.

The Bar Harbor, Maine main harbor. Giggle…
So pretty and busy with cruise ships making stops in the city.

Then there was Bar Harbor, the main tourist attraction on the island.  And, when the cruise ships docked for the day, some 3,000 people would enter the small city.  It was like Traverse City, MI on steroids, someone commented.

Since we were celebrating our birthdays on this trip, we did so in Bar Harbor, shopping, enjoying fine food, and sipping exotic cocktails.

A Tree House bar in Bar Harbor, ME. The locals recommended it.

We met many interesting fellow travelers along the way, from all over the country and beyond.  There were great conversations with those who work in Maine during the high season (summer) and move to Florida to work during the winter.

Life in two destinations each year would be interesting.  I think of all the people you would meet in such a job.

Another beautiful sunset from our deck in Bass Harbor, Maine. Heavenly!

Even though it took 20 hours to get to Bass Harbor, Maine, it was ever so worth the drive.  If you haven’t been to Maine, put it on your bucket list.

Nemo’s bar and restaurant. First place we stopped, close to our cottage, bought our first live lobsters for dinner. $4/lb, you cook. It Was Yummy… Fun bar 🙂

It was my first time experiencing Maine.  I hope to visit again some day, when it’s fall, when the leaves and cool temps will provide even more breathtaking vistas to enjoy.

Hopefully I’ll have more time to explore other places in that picturesque state.   And meet Darla from She’s A Maineiac.  And meet Stephen King!  Until then, I’ll enjoy the memories we made in that lovely state of Maine.

Bass Harbor from our deck, high tide.

* * * * *

Have you been to Mt. Desert Island, Maine?  Bar Harbor? Bass Harbor?  What was your favorite experience?

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Here’s to all who labor this Labor Day holiday weekend! Enjoy!

About Tar-Buns @ Here and ThereSa

This is my Green Acres Life - somewhere over the rainbow.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Maine, How I Love Ya…

  1. pegoleg says:

    Love your pictures! It looks like you picked the perfect place to stay – right on the water, which I KNOW you love. You must have been a mermaid in a prior life.

    I can’t wait to see the other 800 photos and hear all about it in 2 weeks. Have a great, long holiday weekend.

    • It was fabulous. We truly lucked out on the weather – cool at night, comfortable in the shade during the day. Watching the tides go in and out – it was so obvious from our perch.
      Looking forward to seeing you in 2 weeks! Smooches 🙂

  2. Bucket list updated. Muchos gracias.

  3. I am so glad you had a wonderful week in our glorious state of Maine. I had such a good time after 30 years of summer vacations that I moved here from Philadelphia! After 10 years I am still exploring all Maine has to offer. Love the picture of the lobsters in the kitchen sink!! Can’t wait to hear more stories and see more pictures. Sorry you didn’t get to meet Stephen King… I hear you really did meet him, but he was in disguise and didn’t let you know so that you’d have to come back. Our state slogan is, “Maine, the way life should be.” …and it truly is…

    • So, you new Stephen King was in my neck of Maine and didn’t clue me in? I’m so sad!
      We did have a great time. We did make it to an LL Bean outlet store in Elsworth – it was closest to our island life.
      It was so beautiful and I have so many other pictures!
      Sorry for the delay in replying. Chalk it up to first week back of school, when I”m most crazed!
      I do hope to return some day. Thanks for all your good information about places to see before we left.
      T

  4. Jeff says:

    Great pictures! We’ve been to Bar Harbor, but I never heard of Bass Harbor. We drove through Acadia Nat’l Park, too. Very beautiful area up there. We loved it. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  5. So happy you guys had such a blast! I love the photos and it’s good to see you guys cooked your own lobster. I have to say my fave time to visit Bar Harbor is the fall. My mom and I used to trek up there every October, right after Columbus Day. The streets were quiet, hardly any tourists and the leaves were gorgeous.

    • That would be beautiful, but it’s hard to get time off in the fall. Just survived the first week back and I have to say, it went pretty well. As much as I dreaded the start, we’ve got a lot of really good new kids to start the year, and that’s our life or death.
      We need the numbers to keep the program running, especially in MI where teachers are so obviously under attack by our current gov and the legislation.
      How goes your classes?
      Did ya hear Peg’s traveling east tomorrow??? With our sister, Lib. They’ll have a blast I’m sure.
      Enjoy the fall for me!

  6. Mary Kay says:

    Loved the pictures-just like being there. We are up and running too. Good batch of children. Look forward to seeing you on Sat. and yes, Katie is planning on bringing Sydney. Love-MK

    • Tar-Buns says:

      We sure had fun tonight in Frankenmuth, didn’t we?
      Hard to believe Dad is 85 years young!
      Lib’s slideshow was AWESOME! I’ll have to see the rest.
      Time to hit the hay. Smooches!

Leave a Reply

