T-Minus 14 Hours to Lift-Off

We’re in countdown mode.  Scurrying here and there, getting those To-Do list items crossed off.  Paid the bills, balanced the checkbook (so I know how much I can spend), full gas tank, dog-sitter all set, mini-pedicure, and now the dirty work.  What to pack. It could be cold, it could be hot. Guess I’ll have to bring one of everything – then we’ll see how easy it is to close my suitcase.

My husband is insisting that we leave NO LATER than 5am.  In the car, backing out, and on the road.  It won’t even be light out yet.  I think 6am is more realistic but he is being very stubborn.  I asked him how he slept last night.  “I woke up at 4am.  Practicing for tomorrow.”  Oh geesh…. this is a vacation, honey!

So, I plan to have all but an overnight bag in the car, packed, ready to fly, tonight.  Because I am NOT an early morning person.  Oh, sure, I get up early enough most days, but I like to lounge on the computer, check out the morning news, have my cup of joe.

In other words, it’s hard to get me out of the house in less than an hour.  More so when I’m leaving for over a week.  But, one way or another, we are leaving early morning and I will be in the car!

You will forgive me if I’m a bit remiss in checking in with the blogging world.  After all, eating lobster and sightseeing takes a lot of time and energy.  If you get FPd, please give me a holler!

Until we speak again, take care of the homestead, and enjoy these last fleeting days of summer.  I know we will!!!  Unless we kill each other with all the togetherness … 24/7 … for 9 days!

Sayonara!

About Tar-Buns @ Here and ThereSa

This is my Green Acres Life - somewhere over the rainbow.
This entry was posted in travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to T-Minus 14 Hours to Lift-Off

  1. Al says:

    Have fun Tar-buns.
    As for closing the suitcase, if you check your sister’s contest blog “whatchamacallit”, you will find my ingenious idea for a suitcase closer, probably the greatest invention in this new century. For some unexplained reason (probably bribes by the other contestants) it was totally overlooked in the voting. You may feel free to use it for a small royalty, let’s say $10,000.00.

    • pegoleg says:

      Don’t do it, Tar! He’s got a shark-of-a-lawyer on speed dial and he’ll probably sue you for breach of promise if you neglect to pay the additional $5,763.19 shipping and handling charge buried in the fine print for his No-Sit-Upon-Em Suitcase Closer.

  2. pegoleg says:

    I’ll give you a holler if YOU get FP’d, OK? Have a great time, and don’t spend a minute worrying if you left the clothes iron on. You know, the one in the bedroom, where you were touching up some shirts? Don’t even give it a thought!

    • You’re cruel, Pegoleg! I’d obsess, except for one fact. I don’t do ironing. I do windows, but I don’t do that.
      I’ll check on Pat, though, as he is want to iron now and then.
      It’s really happening!!! Jeezum crow, (practicing for Maine) can’t believe how fast time is flying!!!
      Smooches to all who stop by here! T-buns

  3. k8edid says:

    I got up early to see you off this morning….safe travels TB.

    • You actually just missed us. My alarm was set wrong and I happened to have to use the ladies room, went back to bed, but had to get up. It was already 4:20am. We did leave before 6, but it wasn’t 5.
      We just got off the road and in a hotel near Springfield, MA. 14 hours in the car. Bushed. Talk later!

  4. Have a safe trip!!! You guys are coming here at the right time, the weather’s looking perfect.

  5. Mary Kay says:

    Are you there yet? Keep us posted.

  6. I also only consider myself a morning person if I can drink coffee and browse the Internet for two hours before I have to do any real work.

  7. pegoleg says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday Sis! Hope you are swilling beer and chomping the heads off of lobstahs as fast as Pat can boil them. Have a great day, sweetie.

  8. k8edid says:

    Oh, I missed the birthday, but hope it was swell. Heading home soon?

Leave a Reply

