The USS Edson is Almost Home

I love boats and boating.  Our family started boating when I was a teenager and it’s been love ever since.

I have been watching with interest the travels of a retired naval destroyer as she is towed to her new home in Bay City, Michigan.  The journey began in Philadelphia on July 18th, with the Edson being towed by a tug named Colonel.  The boats will have traveled 2,436 miles to arrive in Bay City, off Lake Huron, sometime tomorrow, Tuesday, Aug. 7th.

bctimes.jpg

Bay City native Kenneth Bailey captured this photo of the USS Edson as it passed the Ambassador Bridge in the Detroit River on Aug 5.  As featured on http://www.mlive.com Aug. 6, 2012.

A comment on-line led me to the website http://www.marinetraffic.com where I was able to see the boat come out of the Weland locks into Lake Erie, (Fri. & Sat) and watched the little boat-icon move into the Detroit River Sunday.  It’s pretty cool to see the vessels on the waterways moving here and there.  Enter the ship’s name on the left and zoom in to the Lake Huron side of Michigan to see the Colonel (that’s the ship which is underway) moving to its destination.  (If the boat is out of range, unfortunately, you won’t see it on the screen).

Here’s an excerpt from mlive.com who have been covering the journey since the USS Edson left Philadelphia.

“The tugboat (the Colonel)  will lead the Edson to Wirt Stone Dock, located a quarter mile downriver from the Independence Bridge. It will dock here temporarily until mooring installation is complete at its permanent location near the Independence Bridge Boat Launch.

Visitors can expect to first tour the USS Edson around September. The Edson will serve as the floating centerpiece of the Saginaw Valley Naval Ship Museum. In April, the Navy announced it was donating the ship to the museum.

The destroyer got under way from Philadelphia on Wednesday July 18. The ship’s departure marked the beginning of a journey across 2,436 miles of ocean and freshwater from the East Coast to Bay City.”

Article credit to  http://connect.mlive.com/user/mikkiburger/index.html

I don’t live far from Bay City.  Think I’ll have to road trip over and get some awesome pictures of this elegant, historic vessel as she enters the Saginaw River.

A Big Welcome to the USS Edson as she nears her new home port in Bay City, Michigan!

About Tar-Buns @ Here and ThereSa

This is my Green Acres Life - somewhere over the rainbow.
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The USS Edson is Almost Home

  1. pegoleg says:

    What a coup for Bay City! Is there (or is there going to be) an actual maritime museum there as well?

    • I’m confused about that. Today’s article said the USS Edson would belong to the Saginaw Valley Naval Ship Museum. I guess that’s also considered a maritime museum, right? Thanks for reading. I’m not setting the world on fire with this little ditty but that’s OK. I think it’s newsworthy.

  2. pattisj says:

    It’s nice to see the naval ships being berthed around the country where they can be toured, rather than mothballed somewhere. The Wisconsin is in nearby Norfolk, but we haven’t been to see it yet.

  3. Al says:

    I’m glad to hear how much you enjoyed this event. It sure can get the patriotism swelling up inside one.

    Living on the bay here in Virginia Beach, we see all the naval ships going out for and coming in from deployment. It’s a rousing sight, especially the big super carriers. I served on a carrier in my Navy days, in fact I met and married my wife here when I was stationed in Norfolk, lo those many, many years ago. But it still gives me a thrill to see those folks going out into harms way.

    The battleship USS Wisconsin is berthed nearby in Norfolk, but I haven’t been aboard yet. I have visited 3 other retired battleships around the country and once had the opportunity to go aboard the USS New Jersey when it was still on active duty.

    You hit a chord with this post, can you tell? By the way, I’ve subscribed to your blog. I don’t know why it took me so long.

    • Hi Al! Thanks for coming over for a visit! Since I haven’t been blogging a full week yet, one can be forgiven for coming when you did! Did you notice the variety in my 3 posts so far???
      I’m glad this hit a chord with you. I think it’s newsworthy. She arrived this morning so I’ve been gone all day.
      I just got home from Bay City where I went out on my Dad’s boat with my brother to fish in the Saginaw Bay. After, as it got choppier and choppier, we cruised by the USS Edson in the afternoon, once she was in her temporary dock.
      I got some great pictures! I will try to figure out how to put them up so anyone interested can enjoy them.
      Our brother was in the Navy – Pat, he’s the one who died 14 years ago. Now our nephew is finishing up Naval bootcamp in Illinois (this Friday), then on to study and have a career in the Navy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

